OTHER PRACTICES
DWI or DUI DEFENSE

In Texas, the offense of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is commonly referred to as a DWI (driving while intoxicated). This is often confused with other states that refer to the same offense as a DUI (driving under the influence).

The Plummer Law Firm P.C. is committed to providing you with excellent legal representation in the area of DWI or DUI Defense. However, you must act quickly if you or someone you know has been arrested for a DWI or DUI. Please contact us immediately, if you or a loved one has been charged with a DWI.

USUALLY you have only FIFTEEN (15) DAYS from the date of your arrest, to take necessary steps to save your Drivers License.

From the outset, The Plummer Law Firm P.C. will begin defending you with a jury trial in mind. You will receive an honest assessment of likelihood of an acquittal or "not guilty verdict," from the moment we begin working on your DWI or DUI charge. While other law firms or lawyers will be preparing you to "make a deal," or "take a plea," The Plummer Law Firm P.C. will be strategically preparing and evaluating your case for trial. When winning is the only option, and you are not interested in making a deal, contact The Plummer Law Firm P.C.

While other law firms will take any criminal case that walks through the door, The Plummer Law Firm P.C. focuses on people charged with DWI or DUI in criminal court. A DWI or DUI can permanently affect the remainder of your life. Further, there are immediate deadlines you must meet if you want a chance to save your driver's license, after being arrested and charged with a DWI. Thus, if you or someone you know has been arrested for a DWI or DUI, please, contact us immediately for a free initial consultation.

In some Texas counties such as Harris County, Brazoria County, Fort Bend County, Galveston County, and Montgomery County, the district attorney has scheduled several "zero tolerance" dates, where the authorities will set up mandatory blood draw stations. These blood draw stations are places where the police will take your blood, to test it for its blood alcohol continent. Typically, a warrant to search you and take your blood will be obtained on these "zero tolerance" weekends, if you are suspected of driving while intoxicated. It is extremely important that you know your rights, in the event you are detained, and a police force is attempting to take blood from you.

The Plummer Law Firm P.C. has been successful in defending those wrongfully accused, who have had blood drawn by the police. While mandatory in accident cases, the State is moving closer drafting laws that would allow the police to take blood anytime a DWI is suspected.

In Texas, here are a few of the alcohol related or drunk driving offenses and penalties:
  • First Time DWI Offender: This offense is treated as a Class B Misdemeanor. A driver convicted of this offense can face up to a $2,000 fine, three to 180 days in jail, and a license suspension of 90 days to one year upon conviction. This offense will go on a driver's record permanently, and cannot be expunged.
  • Second Time DWI Offender: This offense is treated as a Class A Misdemeanor. A driver convicted of this offense can face up to a $4,000 fine, 30 days to one year in jail, and a license suspension of 180 days to two years upon conviction. A second time DWI offender may be required to serve mandatory jail time if convicted. This offense will go on a driver's record permanently, and cannot be expunged.
  • Third Time DWI Offender: This offense is treated as a third degree felony. A driver convicted of this offense can face up to a $10,000 fine, 2 to 10 years in jail, and a license suspension of 180 days to two years upon conviction. This offense will go on a driver's record permanently, and cannot be expunged.

A DWI conviction will not only put your liberty at stake, but your license to drive a motor vehicle in Texas is immediately at risk. However, contrary to what you may have heard, being charged with a DWI does not mean you will automatically lose your license. Time is of the essence and you must act fast if you or a loved one is arrested for or charged with an alcohol related or drunk driving related offense. If contacted in time, The Plummer Law Firm P.C. will request a hearing with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), to fight to keep your license.

There are many other consequences to being accused of a DWI or DUI. Some are financial, such as increased insurance costs or SR22 insurance requirements, large fines, probation fees, exam fees, increased costs to have a licenses to drive, sur-charges, and other expensive costs that go along with a DWI or DUI charge or conviction. Other consequences are job related restrictions, ignition interlock devices, community supervision, Jail or Prison time. To learn more about these consequences, please contact us immediately, for a free consultation.